Our Roots

Ballina Credit Union was founded in 1968, and we have been serving our members in a professional and efficient manner ever since. The first official meeting of Ballina Credit Union was held in the Town Hall on the 19th January 1968 and attended by approximately fifty people. By 30th September of that year the total assets of the credit union amounted to IR68 (just less than 100).
Business was initially conducted from a sweet shop in the Savoy cinema (where Shaws Department Store is now located) and from there a premise was acquired in Barrett Street. The credit union continued to grow and necessitated a move to Bridge Street. As the popularity of the credit union increased, and with membership at 6,500, total assets of some IR5m (6.35m) and a staff of four, the move was made to the purpose-built premises on ORahilly Street that we now call home.

Where are we now

Ballina Credit union currently has an asset value of over 80m and boasts a membership in excess of 17,000 account. With an operating staff of 12 the credit union can certainly place itself on the pedestal of one of the leading financial services providers in its community.

Why a Credit Union

With a credit union you are a member, or a stakeholder. With another financial institution you are simply a customer. Other institutions are for-profit institutions and their goal is to make money for the stockholders of the company. A credit union is not-for-profit entity and their goal is pass through the profits to the members. This comes in the form of added member benefits such as zero fees and low loan rates and free savings and loan insurance.

Our Aim

It is the aim of Ballina Credit Union to provide a safe and sound financial institution in order to provide our members with a cost effective financial solution, to endeavour to expand both our membership and services on an ongoing basis, and to at all times promote the principles of the credit union movement.

Our Team


Jacqueline Kinsella
Stuart Edmeades
David Dwane
Patricia Ruane
John Carroll
Mark Winters
Margaret Reddington
Fionn Sweeney
Declan Naughton


Sean McDonnell
Oversight Member
Eimear Thornton
Oversight Member
Ann Conlon
Oversight Member


Michael Ferguson
Donal McDonald
Operational Manager
Valerie Moran
Risk & Compliance Manager
Recent Results of the Ballina Credit Union Car/Cash Draw

O'Rahilly Street . Ballina . County Mayo

Telephone 096 71066 . Fax 096 72176 . Email info@ballinacu.ie | Directors

© 2019 Ballina Credit Union Limited is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland

All Rights Reserved . Privacy policy . Terms . Cookies .Design By Splash Marketing . Developed By AppDesign.ie